Help

Can I make all my projects protected by default?

Pro users have the option to make all projects protected by default. Unlisted projects, available to users on free or Pro plans, have a unique link and only people with whom you have shared the link can read and edit the project. Protected projects let you specify collaborators by email address for added security.

To make protected projects the default option, click the down arrow next to your name, and select settings. Click or scroll to Defaults for New Projects. In the Default Access Control section, select Protected from the drop down menu, then click Update New Project Defaults.

Settings, New Projects, Protected

All new projects will now be created as protected projects.

More information about privacy and security on Overleaf is linked here.

For more information about Pro plans, or to sign up for a free trial, visit our plans page.